Document Actions

You are here: Home / The Network

The Bernstein Network



The Bernstein Network Computational Neuroscience was established through a central funding initiative of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) in 2004. Its core elements are the Bernstein Centers for Computational Neuroscience in Berlin, Freiburg, Göttingen, Heidelberg-Mannheim, Munich and Tübingen.

During the funding periods, the centers were complemented by 'Bernstein Partner' projects, consisting of five Bernstein Groups and eleven Bernstein Collaborations. The annual Bernstein Award allowed young researchers to establish their own, independent research groups.

The Bernstein Focus: Neurotechnology in the regions Berlin, Frankfurt/Main, Freiburg/Tübingen and Göttingen was established to extend the network towards technological applications. A further Bernstein Focus: Neuronal Basis of Learning was initiated to tackle application-relevant issues of learning and memory.

German - American and German-Japanese collaborations are fostering the international cooperation and scientific outreach of Bernstein research.


Network Committees


  • Chairman
    Andreas Herz
    (BCCN Munich, LMU Munich)
  • Deputy Chairman
    Matthias Bethge
    (BCCN Tübingen, University of Tübingen, Max Planck Institute for Biological Cybernetics)
  • Treasurer
    Thomas Wachtler-Kulla
    (BCCN Munich, G-Node, LMU Munich)


  • Udo Ernst, University of Bremen
  • Julijana Gjorgjieva, Max-Planck Institute for Brain Research, Frankfurt; Technical University of Munich
  • Stefan Rotter, University of Freiburg
  • Susanne Schreiber, Humboldt University Berlin
  • Tatjana Tchumatchenko, Max-Planck Institute for Brain Research, Frankfurt
  • Florentin Wörgötter, University of Goettingen

The steering committee supports the work of the executive committee. It consists of scientists of the Bernstein Network. In 2017, the steering committee was elected for the first time in order to anchor the responsibility for the further development of the network more broadly and to support the executive committee in making important decisions.


  • Laura Bella Naumann, Technical University Berlin (students/ PhD candidates)
  • Katharina Wilmes, Imperial College London (Postdocs)