Document Actions

You are here: Home / The Network / Scientific Awards / Open Call: Brains for Brains Award 2019

Open Call: Brains for Brains Award 2019

Young Researchers' Computational Neuroscience Award


Application deadline:
April 24, 2019, 2 p.m. CET (Application deadline will not be extended!)

Who can apply?

  • Students of all nationalities from relevant disciplines (biology, medicine, physics, mathematics, computer science, engineering, psychology, ...) who plan to pursue a research career in Computational Neuroscience and who have at least one peer reviewed publication (as coauthor) or peer reviewed conference abstract (as first author).

The publication / conference abstract must be:

  • accepted by a journal / at a conference that peer reviews contributions prior to acceptance
  • submitted before starting doctoral studies
  • accepted or published in 2018 or 2019
  • written in English

The award is endowed with:
A travel grant of 2.000 € for a one-week trip to Germany, incl. participation in the Bernstein Conference 2019 in Berlin and individually planned visits to up to two German research institutions in Computational Neuroscience.

Applications must contain:

  • academic curriculum vitae
  • publication list (incl. peer reviewed conference abstracts)
  • letter of motivation (stating why you would like to participate in the Bernstein Conference and which labs you would like to visit)
  • copy of the peer reviewed publication or peer reviewed conference abstract with which you apply for the award (if publication / conference abstract is not published yet: copy of acceptance letter)
  • copies of degree certificates
  • recommendation letter of academic advisor (stating that the publication / the conference abstract with which you apply for the award was submitted before you started your doctoral studies. To be sent by advisor directly to

In order to be considered for the award, applications must be complete and strictly follow the application guidelines.

Applications (in English) are to be sent by e-mail in 1 PDF file (no larger than 3 MB) to:

Previous awardees: